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Make the Call: Interference and Double Play

Runner on first, no outs. Batter hits
a grounder to the second baseman, who
throws to the shortstop covering. The
shortstop tags the base and cocks his arm
to throw to first.

A lot can happen next. But for the
purpose of this article, consider these
four situations and decide what call the
umpire should make:

A) A thrown ball hits the runner
while he is three steps from second base
and in the base line.

B) A thrown ball hits the runner
while he is only three steps from first
base, in the base line.

C) The second baseman appeals to
the umpire that he couldn’t throw be-
cause the runner, halfway between bases,
was in his way.

D) The runner veers right and ducks.
The shortstop keeps running and col-
lides with the runner about three steps to
the right-field side of the base but never
throws the ball.

Do you rule interference and a dou-
ble play in each case? In some of them?
Or in none of them?

Gather a group of players and um-
pires for this discussion, and it will last
a long time while likely never reaching a
consensus.

For guidance, first realize that Senior
Softball USA defines interference as “the
act of an offensive player or team mem-
ber that impedes or confuses a defensive
player attempting to execute a play. A
base runner must avoid a fielder making
aplay.” (Rule 1.45.)

The rule leaves to the umpire’s
judgment what constitutes “impedes or
confuses.” As such, two umpires can
view the same play and draw different
conclusions.

A runner may not wave his arms,
scream at the fielder, or step in front of
a thrown ball to block it. Those calls are
easy ones for umpires. But many others
are not.

We drafted our rules many years ago
based on ASA rules (now USA Softball).
Though our rules have been rewritten
many times since then, the interference
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rule has remained constant. Today, it
differs only slightly from USA Softball,
which defines interference as “the act of
an offensive player or team member, um-
pire or spectator that impedes, hinders or
confuses a defenswe pla) er attempting to

Be careful what you read into the
rule.

Just a few months ago, USA Soft-
ball posted on its “rules clarifications™
page three plays involving runners hit by
thrown balls. USA stressed the need to
see each play unfold before determining
whether interference happened.

“Just because a runner is hit with a
thrown ball while the defense is turning a
double play does not constitute interfer-
ence,” USA Softball wrote. *“You must
always ... consider, did the retired runner
do something to impede, hinder or con-
fuse the defense from making a play. You
cannot take a play and say what interfer-
ence is always and what is not.”

In example A above, the author of
USA’s posting wrote: “I do not find any
impedance, hindering or confusion in the
description of this play.”

And in B above, the author wrote,
“Based on description of the play. the
runner stayed in the base line to impede
the throw and we have interference.
Again have to see the play to say for
sure.”
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Now, on to situations C and D above.

In C. the runner is not anywhere
close to second base. But the fielder
didn’t throw the ball. Most SSUSA
umpires will not call interference because
the runner might have yielded had the
ball been thrown. (And no, managers
shouldn’t tell their players to throw at
the runner to get the interference call.

We don’t condone hurting someone on
purpose.)

In D, we have a defender trying to
draw interference on the runner, who has
yielded. This is not interference. This is a
defender creating contact trying to get a
cheap out. No umpire should fall for that
one.

Overall, when the question of inter-
ference arises, remember that judgment
from umpire to umpire can vary. So don’t
be surprised to see nearly identical plays
called different ways in different games —
and have both calls defended as correct.
They well could be.

When interference is ruled, the ball
is dead. Runners who are between bases
must return to the last one touched.

In some other associations, includ-
ing USA Softball, when a retired runner
causes the interference, the runner closest
to home is out for the second out.

When the situations described above
happen in SSUSA play, the umpire
should call the batter-runner out for a
double play.

Donna McGuire is SSUSA’s Central
Region Umpire-in-Chief and Chair of the
SSUSA National Rules Committee.
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