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Get to Know SSUSA and USA Softball Rules

As many managers and
umpires know, the Senior
Softball-USA rulebook does
not cover every situation that
can happen during games. It
is short on details and in some
cases, it completely ignores
penalties for rule infractions.

Consider this example:
What constitutes a base runner
passing a preceding runner?

Our rulebook carries one
sentence on the subject. Rule
9.2.G says the ball remains
in play “when a base runner
is called out for passing a
preceding runner.”

By contrast, the USA
Softball rulebook covers the
topic in multiple paragraphs
and in two places: Rule 8.7.D,
and in the Rules Supplement
Section 39. That book gives
examples, explains the live-
ball penalty, and defines what
constitutes “passing” a runner.
(*“To pass a runner, the trail
runner must pass the entire
body of the lead runner, not
just an arm or leg ahead of the
runner.”)

Our rulebook has 12
words on the subject. USA
Softball has 139 words, not
counting a paragraph involv-
ing fast-pitch play.

SSUSA has always filled
the rulebook gaps by falling
back on ASA Softball (now
USA Softball) for any rule not
covered in our book.

When you look at our
history, the situation makes
sense.

Early in the life of senior
softball, most leagues and
tournaments around the coun-
try followed Amateur Softball
Association rules. Back then,
ASA was the largest softball
organization in the country.
After all, it had been around
since the 1930s.

So, when Bob Mitchell
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formed Senior Softball-USA
in 1988, it was natural for him
to base play on ASA rules
while adding special rules for
the senior game. ASA’s book
acted like a supplement to
SSUSA's rules.

As the years and decades
passed, SSUSA National
Director Otis Rowland and
others helped rewrite, improve
and expand our rulebook.
Even so, holes remained, and
we continued to consult ASA
as needed.

Though USA Softball
still exists, it claims a much
smaller slice of the pie today
than it once did. As a result,
fewer players and umpires
nowadays have backgrounds
in ASA/USA play.

Yet it’s important for
players, managers and um-
pires to understand our rules.
So, in addition to studying our
rulebook, it would be helpful
if they understood at least the
basic USA rules.

USA no longer prints it
book but provides an electron-
ic version that can be down-
loaded for $14.99. Annual
rules changes are published
on the USA Softball website,
so there’s no need to buy an
electronic rule book every
year, as long
as you keep
the changes in
mind.

A recent
play during a
Florida game
illustrates the
value of know-
ing USA rules.
With one out
in the top of
the seventh,
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the visitors trailed by one run
and had runners on first and
third bases.

The batter-runner hit a
fly ball to right field that was
caught. The runner at third
tagged and scored to tie the
game. The runner at first ran
partway to second before
retreating to first base after the
catch.

For some reason, the
batter-runner rounded first,
passed the preceding runner
and hustled to second.

The umpires called two
outs on the play and negated
the run, which ended the
game. First, they claimed to
have called two outs on the
batter-runner, which isn’t
possible. Then after huddling,
they claimed the runner at first
somehow had interfered with
the defense. They charged the
second out to him and still
ended the game.

That ruling was incorrect.
The runner at first did noth-
ing that could be considered
interference.

Solving the situation takes
understanding the nuances of
interference and the penal-
ties for committing it. Those
nuances and full penalties are
found in the USA rulebook,
not ours.

Bottom line: A second out
could have been called ONLY
it the batter-runner confused
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the defense by running to
second base and drawing a
throw. That action could have
prevented the defense from
attempting to double-up the
runner headed back to first.

The umpire simply should
have sent the batter-runner
back to the dugout.

If a throw happened, and
the umpires ruled interference
on the batter-runner, what
would happen next?

The batter-runner already
has been called out. He can’t
be called out again. There-
fore, by USA rule, the runner
closest to home also is out.
However, this is a timing play,
based on when the interfer-
ence happened. If the runner
from third had not scored, he
is out and the game is over.
But if that runner scored be-
fore the interference, the game
would have been tied, and
the runner at first would have
been the one called out. Thus,
the game would have gone
into extra innings.

If the umpires had known
the USA rules, they could
have avoided grasping for a
ruling. They could have made
the correct call.

Donna McGuire is SSU-
SA’s Central Region UIC and
Chair of the SSUSA National
Rules Committee.
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